USP Images
Institute of Education (IOE)

IOE




Days until the Conference

Vaka Pasifiki Education Conference 2016

 

What is Vaka Pasifiki?

Vaka Pasifiki has both literal and richly metaphorical meanings.  In a number of Pacific languages vaka or waka is literally understood as a means of transport, and most commonly refers to ocean-going sail boats and canoes.  Pasifiki is a transliteration of the English word Pacific in a distinctly Pacific form, and refers collectively to the island dwelling Oceanic peoples.

Metaphorically, Vaka Pasifiki captures the essence of a vessel for, and of, our Pacific people.  Vaka Pasifiki is inclusive of the many and diverse cultures of those who carry an educational vision forward; the means by which they carry it and are carried by it; and the reason it is done.  

The destination of Vaka Pasifiki is, as yet, uncharted.  It is dependent on the clarity of the collective visioning of Pasifiki people, who alone can define and navigate to a destination which is sustainable, and in which Pasifiki flourish, are assured, and can forge new Oceanic paradigms.  Vaka Pasifiki must be open, and able to see and utilise the navigational wisdoms of its people.  It must “ride low, close to Oceania: so that we feel the currents”, and strive to be ever responsive to the hopes and aspirations of Pacific peoples, serving them with humility, respect and courage. 

Vaka Pasifiki, therefore, is an educational movement, supported by “ordinary people with extra-ordinary dreams!” It is the initial name for the emerging Indigenous Pacific Research School of Thought. We invite you to journey with us. (With thanks to Johansson-Fua, 2009)

*********************************************************************************************************************

Vaka Pasifiki Education Conference 2016 follows the Vaka Pasifiki Education Conference 2014, marking "weaving theory and practice in teacher education for Oceania". This conference provides an opportunity for the sharing of ideas, presentation of research and best practice, and discussion of issues relevant to teacher education, educational policy and practice, and teaching and learning in Oceania.

Vaka Pasifiki Education Conference

Theme: Education for What? Revisited.

Venue: Kukum Campus, Solomon Islands National University, Honiara, Solomon Islands.

3 Concurrent Streams:

1.  Stop Doing...: Presentations primarily concerned with advocacy and making a change-oriented point. Advocacy of a particular perspective for change, based on either or both research and practical lived experience.
2.  Keep Doing...: Presentations designed to showcase and share current best practice and evidence of what is working well. For the purpose of inspiration, dissemination, and encouragement.
3.  Start Doing...: Presentations relating to cutting edge research, innovation, the presentation of critique of theory or practice, leading to new understanding and clarity.

Conference Conveners

Associate Prof Kabini Sanga (VUW)

Mr Donald Malasa (SINU)

Dr Seu'ula Johansson-Fua (IOE,USP)

Contact Details of Working Committee:

Logistics Committee

Dr Jack Maebuta jack.maebuta(at)usp.ac.fj

Mr Charles Rouikera CRouikera(at)mehrd.gov.sb

Mr John Usuramo john.usuramo(at)usp.ac.fj

Dr David Sade david.sade(at)sinu.edu.sb

Mr Samson Rihuoha smrihu(at)gmail.com

Mr George Saemane gsaemane(at)gmail.com


Program Committee

Dr Ruth Toumu'a ruth.toumua(at)usp.ac.fj

Dr Mo'ale 'Otunuku moaleotunuku@gmail.com

Mr Stanley Houma houma.stanley(at)usp.ac.fj

Mr Jeremy Dorovolomo jeremy.dorovolomo(at)usp.ac.fj

Dr Patricia Rodie patricia.rodie(at)sinu.edu.sb

Ms Laura Van Peer vanpeer(at)paradise.net.nz

Ms Roselyn Maneipuri roselyn.maneipuri(at)sinu.edu.sb


Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2017. All Rights Reserved.
Last updated by:  3 Mar, 2016
Institute of Education (IOE)
University of the South Pacific,
PO Box 278,
'Atele, Tonga.
Tel: 676-29-055, 29-054, 29-789
Fax: 676-30-192, 29-249