Who we are - Institute of Education (IOE)

Who We Are

The IoE has served the region for over 40 years, under such projects as BELS, and more recently PRIDE. It has, over the years build networks across national Ministries/Departments of Education, national teacher education institutes, schools, development partners, and other regional agencies working in Education.

In the 2010 the IoE was relocated to the USP Tonga campus and in 2014 a second office was set up at the Solomon Is USP campus. In 2016 will see the re-establishment and strengthening of the IoE Laucala office took place. By 2018, the IoE plants to be confidently running operations from IoE Tonga as its headquarters, IoE Honiara leading the Professional Development and Learning (PDL) programme, , and the IoE Laucala office as the base for the Waka Publications programme.

The current IoE team is staff by:


Dr Seu'ula Johansson-Fua


  Dr Ruth Toumu'a

  Dr Mo'ale 'Otunuku

  Dr David Fa'avae

  Dr Jack Maebuta

  Mr Lausi'i Siale

  Ms Maria Mafi

  Mr Stanley Houma

  Miss Afuafu (Lupe) Kautoke

  Mr Stephen Fong

  Mr Richard Robyns

  Ms Mary Kendell

  Miss Lana Phi

  Mr Patrick Daudau

  Ms Jenny Taufa

In addition, the core IoE team continues to receive guidance and support from the IOE Reference Group:

  Professor Konai Helu Thaman,

  Associate Professor Eve Coxon,
University of Auckland

  Associate Professor Kabini Sanga,
The Victoria University of Wellington

  Dr 'Ana Maui Taufe'ulungaki,

Disclaimer & Copyright | Contact Us
© Copyright 2004 - ###CURRYEAR### The University of the South Pacific (USP). All rights reserved.