30.10.2015 00:00 Age: 6 yrs

Moot Competition Finale 2015 -Internal

From left: Peter Teddy, Gabriel Maefiri, DPP J. Naguilevu, Sofia Shah (USP Moot Committee Chair)Justice Fatiaki, Dimitry Murdoch, Everett Sioa, Quintina Letawerpiy and Joe Lomae.

Top Photo: Justice Fatiaki and Director of Public Prosecutions Mr. Josaia Naguilevu judging the USP Emalus Campus Moot Finals.

USP Emalus Campus Internal  Mooting Competition 2015

As we draw towards the end of Semester 2 for 2015 on Emalus Campus, the results of weeks of hard work by students already surpassed have truly blossomed with the conclusion of the Emalus Campus Internal Moot Competition. The winners were acknowledged during the USP Emalus Campus Students Association (USPECSA) Social Night at Emalus Campus.

The Moot Competition is an annual event held by the School of Law at Emalus Campus and at Laucala Campus in a near-reality court room setting (Mock Court) which allows groups of students or firms to argue appeal cases based on law and facts similar to real life scenarios. Moot encourages advocacy skills in the students when exercising oral arguments and enhances students’ knowledge in the various fields of law through legal research, application of the rules and principles of law and generally skills of public speaking.

Despite the effects of Cyclone Pam in Vanuatu, the University student’s spirits did not get affected and we ended up with a total of 22 participating firms in the Moot Competition this year. This year’s Internal Moot Competition stretched over 4 weeks of hard work and dedication from about 59 students who initially registered. As the semester progressed and the going got tough, we are proud to say that the number of participants did not decline and we commend the students for their perseverance and dedication to the Moot Competition this year.

The Emalus Campus 2015 Moot Finals was held from 6:00pm to 9:00 pm on 1st October, 2015 in the Moot Court at USP. The two finalist teams, Marsol Law Firm and Law Freaks Law Firm, made their arguments to a panel of two judges: Justice Fatiaki from the Supreme Court of Vanuatu and The Director of Public Prosecutions for Vanuatu Mr. Josaia Naguilevu. We heartily thank them for taking out their precious time and assisting us in this Moot Competition.

Each moot team had three members. The students representing Marsol Law Firm were: Joe Lomae, Peter Teddy and Gabriel Maefiri. For Law Freaks Law Firm, the student team members were Dimitry Murdoch, Everett Sioa and Quintina Letawerpiy.

The moot case involved an appeal from a trial court decision regarding a contract case. Both teams presented their arguments for the appeal before the Judges.

The Law Freaks Law Firm was named the Moot Competition winner. Dimitry Murdoch of the Law Freaks Law Firm was named best Mooter overall. In their closing remarks, the judges praised the skill of both teams and encouraged the Mooters to keep improving.

Congratulations to all the members of both teams for persevering to the very end and delivering such an awesome and inspiring event.

 The University of the South Pacific School of Law Moot Committee and USP Students Association of Emalus Campus would like to take this opportunity to thank all the Judges and Lecturers for taking out their time to Judge throughout these Moot Competitions and for making it a huge success. We wish to extend our gratitude to the Chief Justice of Vanuatu, Justice Lunabek for giving his continuous support to the USP Moot Committee by providing us with Judges from the Supreme Court every year and we hope this continues over the years to come. We wish to thank Justice Fatiaki, Justice Chetwynd, Mr. Josaia Naguilevu, Mr. Nigel Morrison, Professor Don Paterson, Darryn Jenson, Pierre-Jean, Naomi Nawasaitoga, Britten Yousef, Susan Botham, Sofia Shah, Pamela Kenilorea, Angileeta Devi, Fane Rai, Professor Eric Colvin, Dr. Akanisi Kedreyate (Dean of Faculty of Arts, law and Education) and everyone who have helped us to make it a success.

We do hope that you continue your assistance and support for our students in the future.

We also wish to thank Ms. Sofia Shah for all the hard work and dedication in organizing these Moot Competitions and preparing our students for international Moot Competitions. We also wish to thank the other Moot Committee members, Pamela Kenilorea, Fane Rai and Angileeta Devi. Many thanks also to our Head of School Professor Eric Colvin for his continuous support for the Moot Competition and also those students who helped as Judges’ Associates.

Again we would like to thank all the students who competed in this year’s Moot Competition and to congratulate you all for all the efforts you put in and overall performances. Final congratulations again to this year’s winners and we also wish you all the very best in the International Moot Competitions next year. We hope this year’s competition helps to inspire more students to take part in Moot Competition next year.

Finally we would like to wish all the staff and students of Emalus Campus, USP and everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 1968 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Page updated: Wednesday, January 20, 2021
Discipline of Law
School of Law and Social Sciences
The University of the South Pacific
Emalus Campus,
Private Mail Bag 9072,
Tel: (+678) 22748
Fax: +678 27785