School of Law

School of Law

December, 10, 2015 00:00 Age: 2 yrs

USP Emalus Campus Mooting Competition 2015-External

Photo at Queensland Supreme Court from left: Mark Thomas (Organiser of Shine Lawyers Moot Competition QUT), Anne Dunn, Ravneel Chand, Sofia Shah, Acting Chief Justice Supreme Court of Queensland Justice Margaret McMurdo, Sabnish Khan, Abraham Bualo, Head of School of Law QUT Associate Professor Judith McNamara and Laura Lunabek.

USP Mooters holding up their Spirit of Mooting Award. 3rd photo: USP Team in front of QUT Faculty of Law.

Jessie Lagonilakeba, Jayden Namroud, Mr. Nigel Morrison (Senior Counsel), Justice Chetwynd (Vanuatu Supreme Court Judge) Paige Coomber and Quintina Letawerpiy.

 The first Friendly Moot Competition was in July this year in Brisbane hosted by Queensland University of Technology. This was the QUT Shine Lawyer’s Torts Moot Competition. USP participated in this Moot Competition for the first time this year and will continue to participate in it in the years to come. The students who represented USP in this Moot Competition were: Ravneel Chand (Laucala Campus), Anne Dunn (Laucala Campus), Abraham Bualo (Emalus Campus) and Laura Lunabek (Emalus Campus). This was a very good experience for our students as they had an opportunity to moot with students from QUT and Bond University. USP Team was awarded with the Spirit of Mooting Competition Award. The students were accompanied by coach Sofia Shah.

 The second opportunity our students got this year to moot with students from an external university was in October. This friendly Moot Competition was between the USP Mooters and Australian Catholic University Mooters. The USP Team that participated in these Moot Finals were Jessie Lagonilakeba and Quintina Letawerpiy and from ACU Team were Jayden Namroud and Paige Coomber. USP Team won the Moot finals between USP and ACU and Paige Coomber won the best Mooter prize.  The other Mooters from ACU who participated in these friendly Moots were David Orr and Jenny Park. Associate Professor Elizabeth Crawford-Spencer of the Thomas More Academy of Law was the accompanying coach for the ACU students. The other USP students who participated in this Friendly Moot Competition were Peter Teddy, Joe Lomae, Gabriel Maefiri, Losana Veisaqa, Dimitry Murdoch and Everett Sioa. This Moot Finals also took place on the 1st of October 2015 and was judged by Justice Chetwynd, Vanuatu Supreme Court Judge and Senior Counsel Mr. Nigel Morrison.

USP_Emalus_Campus_Internal_and_External_Moot_Competitions_2015_Article__3_.pdf0.9 M
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2017. All Rights Reserved.
Page updated: Monday, July 17, 2017
School of Law
The University of the South Pacific
Emalus Campus,
Private Mail Bag 9072,
Tel: (+678) 22748
Fax: +678 27785