Advisory Committee

The Committee which had been approved by the USP Senate, assists the Campus on the various kinds of programmes that are relevant and viable for the North, especially in the area of continuing education. The committee usually meets twice a year under the current chairmanship of the former Prime Minister, Major General (Retired) Sitiveni Rabuka. To the extent possible, the committee will ensure that the University plays a useful role in the human resource, educational and technological development of the Northern division.  The committee assists the Campus in the following areas:

  • Students’ sponsorship
  • Continuing education (National)
  • Research and consultancy programme and
  • Future expansion of the centre.

Below are the current members of the Advisory Committee,

  • Mr. Selemo Drokamaisau [A/Chairman – Divisional Education Officer, Northern]
  • Dr. Samuela Bogitini [Director, Labasa Campus]
  • Mr. Jovesa Vocea [Commissioner, Northern]
  • Mr. Paul Jaduram [Managing Director – Jaduram Investment Ltd]
  • Mr. Vilai Basalusalu [Roko Tui Macuata – Macuata Provisional Office]
  • Mr. Vijay Chand [Special Administrator – Labasa & Savusavu Town]
  • Mr. Aisake Nadumu [Roko Tui Bua – Bua Provisional Office]
  • Mr. Filimoni Naiqumu [Roko Tui Cakaudrove – Cakaudrove Provisional Office]
  • Mr. Subrail Prasad [Business Community]
  • Ratu Wiliame Katonivere [Turaga na Tui Macuata]
  • Mr. Karia Christopher [General Manager – Fiji Sugar Cooperation, Labasa]
  • Miss Shobna Singh[Team Leader – Empower Pacific, Labasa]
  • Miss Adi Mela Qomate Ritova – Womens rep [Macuata]
  • President – USPSA, Labasa