Accreditation and Ranking

The University of the South Pacific (USP) has received Initial Accreditation by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), United States for a term of six (6) years. This accreditation is without conditions. The Offsite Reaffirmation Review is set for 2023 with the Accreditation Visit in 2024. An Interim Report is due in 2022.

All these are part of WSCUC’s strong philosophy of continuous improvement, which aligns perfectly with our own, very long-established philosophy of continuous improvement. This means that the institutional quality of the University is now accepted as similar to that of accredited universities in the United States. WSCUC is a regional accrediting agency, established for the purposes of accrediting senior colleges and universities throughout California, Hawaii, and the Pacific and a limited number of international institutions. WSCUC is recognised by the United States Department of Education (USDE) and by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) as a reliable authority concerning the quality of education provided by member institutions of higher education offering the associate degree, baccalaureate degree and post baccalaureate degrees.

List of internationally accredited or recognised programmes

To-date the University has the following programmes that have received accreditation and received recognition

Internationally accredited programmes

  1. Bachelor of Commerce – (Accounting) (CPA Australia, Australia);
  2. Certificate in Tourism and Hospitality Management(THE-ICE, Australia);
  3. Bachelor of Commerce (Tourism Management) (THE-ICE, Australia);
  4. Bachelor of Commerce in Tourism and Hospitality Management (THE-ICE, Australia);
  5. Certificate in Hotel Management (THE-ICE, Australia);
  6. Diploma in Hotel Management (THE-ICE, Australia);
  7. Bachelor of Commerce in Hotel Management (THE-ICE, Australia);
  8. Postgraduate Diploma in Commerce – (Tourism and Hospitality Management) (THE-ICE, Australia);
  9. Master of Commerce (Tourism and Hospitality Management) (THE-ICE, Australia);
  10. PhD in Tourism and Hospitality Management (THE-ICE, Australia);
  11. Master of Business Administration (AMBA, United Kingdom);
  12. Bachelor of Networks and Security (Provisional Accreditation) (ACS4, Australia);
  13. Bachelor of Software Engineering (ACS, Australia);
  14. Bachelor of Engineering – Electrical and Electronics (Engineering New Zealand);
  15. Bachelor of Engineering – Mechanical (Engineering New Zealand);
  16. Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood Education & Care) (ACECQA5, Australia);
  17. Bachelor of Arts (Social Work) (ACWA6, Australia); and
  18. Postgraduate Certificate in Tertiary Teaching (SEDA7,United Kingdom)

Internationally accredited Pacific TAFE qualifications

  1. Certificate III in Commercial Cookery (THE-ICE, Australia);
  2. Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care (ACECQA, Australia);
  3. Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care (ACECQA, Australia);
  4. Certificate IV in Hospitality Operations (Events, Food & Beverage and Front Office) (THE-ICE, Australia);
  5. Certificate III in Community Development (ACWA, Australia);
  6. BSB41515 Certificate IV in Project Management Practice (ASQA8, Australia);
  7. Certificate IV in Commercial Cookery (THE-ICE, Australia);
  8. Diploma of Counselling (ACWA, Australia);
  9. Diploma of Library and Information Services (ALIA9, Australia); and
  10. Certificate III in Patisserie (THE-ICE, Australia).

Note: Pacific TAFE acquired Registered Training Provider status with ASQA. It can deliver qualifications which are accredited with Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).

Recognised qualifications

  1. Twelve (12) courses in USP Bachelor of Laws Degree (Law Council of Australia);
  2. Certificate IV in Accounting (Skills International New Zealand);
  3. Diploma in Accounting (Skills International New Zealand);
  4. Certificate IV in Information Technology (Support) (Skills International New Zealand);
  5. Diploma in Information Technology (Skills International New Zealand);
  6. Foundation Arts Programme (FNA) (Universities New Zealand);
  7. Foundation Business Programme (FNB) (Universities New Zealand);
  8. Foundation Science Programme (FNSN) (Universities New Zealand);
  9. Certificate IV in Office Management (Skills International New Zealand);
  10. Diploma in Office Management – Level 5 (Skills International New Zealand);
  11. Certificate III in Small Business Development and Management (SBAA , Australia);
  12. Bachelor of Education – Primary (New Zealand Qualification Authority);
  13. Bachelor of Education – Secondary (New Zealand Qualification Authority);
  14. Postgraduate Certificate in Education (New Zealand Qualification Authority); and
  15. Graduate Certificate in Education (New Zealand Qualification Authority).
  1. CPA Australia – Certified Practicing Accountant Australia
  2. THE-ICE – International Centre for Excellence in Hospitality and Tourism Management
  3. AMBA – Association of MBAs
  4. ACS – Australian Computer Society
  5. IPENZ – Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand
  6. ACECQA – Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority
  7. ACWA-Australian Community Workers Association
  8. ASQA – Australian Skills Quality Authority

Accreditation of Pacific TAFE Short Courses

WSCUC Accreditation