Pacific Heritage Hub

safeguarding heritage

The Pacific Heritage Hub was established in 2012 as a UNESCO World Heritage facility by and for Pacific States Parties. The idea for the establishment of PHH came from the UNESCO World Heritage Workshop of the Pacific States Parties (2011) which identified information sharing and capacity building as critical needs in the implementation of the 1972 World Heritage Convention in the region. PHH was officially launched in February 2013, hosted by The University of the South Pacific and is housed at the Oceania Centre for Arts, Culture and Pacific Studies, at the School of Pacific Arts, Communication and Education (SPACE).

PHH serves the 16 UNESCO member states in the Pacific and six (6) additional states and territories including French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis & Futuna. As part of UNESCO World Heritage Network, membership also includes United Kingdom, Chile and Ecuador. The PHH member states comprise those served by the UNESCO Apia office: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Tokelau (Associate Member).

The Professional Certificate in Heritage Management offered for the first time in 2019 is a cohort-based programme developed in response to the regional call for improved and increased capacity building for Heritage Management.

USP Chat Service
Lets start: