Current Chancellor

The Chancellor is the titular head of the University.

The current Chancellor is the Head of State of the Independent State of Samoa, His Highness, Afioga Tuimalealiifano Vaaletoa Sualauvi II. He will serve as the 29th Chancellor of the University of the South Pacific for a one (1) year term from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.

His Highness Tuimalealiifano Vaaletoa Sualauvi II was sworn in as the Head of State of the Independent State of Samoa on 21 July 2017.

As the Head of State, he is also the Chancellor of the National University of Samoa. His Highness has been the holder of one of Samoa’s four (4) Tama Aiga titles, Tuimalealiifano since 1977. He is a lawyer by profession, who has served his country as Principal State Solicitor in the Office of the Attorney General, as Public Trustee, as Public Defender in the Ministry of Justice, as Chief Inspector in the Ministry of Police and as a secondary school teacher. He is a former President of the Samoa Ex-Police Association and also affiliated with the Red Cross Society of Samoa, the Lions Club and is a member of the Samoa Law Society.

His Highness attained a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree from the Australian National University (ANU) and a Diploma in Theological Studies from Malua Theological College in Samoa.

He is a member of the Congregational Christian Church of Samoa (CCCS), where he serves as a Lay Preacher. He is also the former church Legal Advisor, the former Elder Deacon of Aana District, the former Commissioner of Lands for the Church, and a former member of the CCCS Finance Committee.

His Highness Tuimalealiifano is married to Her Highness Masiofo Faamausili Leinafo Tuimalealiifano.


Previous Chancellors

Hon. Dalton Emani Makamau Tagelagi, Premier of Niue (July 2021 – June 2022)

His Excellency Lionel Rouwen Aingimea, President of the Republic of Nauru (July 2020 – June 2021)

His Excellency David Kabua, President of the Republic of Marshall Islands (13 January 2020 – 30 June 2020)

Her Excellency Dr Hilda C. Heine, President of the Republic of Marshall Islands (July 2019 – 12 January 2020)

President of the Republic of Kiribati (July 2018 – June 2019)

President of Fiji (July 2017 – June 2018)

Prime Minister of Cook Islands (July 2016 – June 2017)

President of Vanuatu (July 2015 – June 2016)

Governor General of Tuvalu (July 2014 – June 2015)

His Majesty, The King of Tonga (July 2013-June 2014)

Ulu o Tokelau (July 2012-June 2013)

Governor-General of the Solomon Islands (2011-June 2012)

Head of State of Samoa (2010-April 2011)

President of the Republic of Nauru (2009-2010)

President of the Republic of the Marshall Islands (2008-2009)

President of Kiribati (2007–2008)

Head of State (Queen’s Representative), Cook Islands (2006-2007)

Ulu o Tokelau (2003-2006)

Head of Government, Premier of Niue (2000–2003)

His Excellency Sir Tulaga Manuella, Governor–General of Tuvalu (1997-2000)

His Excellency President Amata Kabua, Republic of Marshall Islands (1995-1996)

Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Henry, Prime Minister of Cook Islands (1992-1995)

His Excellency President Frederick Karlomuana Timakata of Vanuatu (1989-1992)

His Highness Susuga Malietoa Tanumafili II of Samoa (1986-1989)

Rt Hon Ieremia Tabai, President of Kiribati (1983-1986)

Rt Hon Sir Baddeley Devesi, Governor–General of Solomon Islands (1980-1983)

Rt Hon Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, Prime Minister of Fiji (1977-1979)

His Excellency President Hammer DeRoburt of Nauru (1974-1976)

His Majesty King Taufa’ahau Tupou IV of Tonga (1971-1973)