Honorary graduates

The University of the South Pacific confers Honorary Degrees to a select group of individuals who have an exceptional record of distinction and achievement.

Honorees include world-and region- renown scholars and artists; celebrated and visionary public figures; prominent professional and community leaders; and educationalists.

The Honorary Degree is not only to acknowledge and celebrate the individuals’ success but also to provide our current students and recent graduates with inspirational role models.

The following persons have been awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of the University of the South Pacific:

  • Mrs Marjorie Tuainekore Crocombe (2010)
  • Dr John E. Randall of the United States of America (2008)
  • Dr Senipisi Langi Kavaliku of Tonga (2007)
  • Masiofo La’ulu Fetauimalemau Mata’afa of Samoa (2004)
  • Sir Geoffrey Arama Henry of the Cook Islands (2000)
  • Dr ‘IIaisa Futa-i-Ha’angano Helu of Tonga (1998)
  • Mr Satya Nand Nandan of Fiji (1996)
  • Professor Yash Pal Ghai of Kenya (1995)
  • His Excellency Frederick Karlomuana Timakata, President of Vanuatu (1993)
  • Professor Kenneth Back of Australia (1992)
  • Dr Colin Campbell Aikman of New Zealand (1992)
  • His Highness Susuga Malietoa Tanumafili II, Head of State of Samoa (1989)
  • Dr Francis Raymond Fosberg of USA (1989)
  • Hon Ieremia Tabai, President of Kiribati (1988)
  • Henry Evans Maude of Australia (1987)
  • Rev John A. Garrett of Fiji (1983)
  • Dr James Ajodhya Maraj of Fiji (1983)
  • Hon Mahe Tupouniua of Tonga (1983)
  • His Excellency Sir Baddeley Devesi, Governor–General of the Solomon Islands (1983)
  • Her Excellency Mrs Indira Gandhi, Prime Minister of India (1981)
  • Rt Hon Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, Prime Minister of Fiji (1980)
  • Rt Hon Michael Somare, Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea (1978)
  • His Excellency President Hammer DeRoburt of Nauru (1976)
  • His Majesty King Taufa’ahau Tupou IV of Tonga (1973)

The following persons have been awarded the honorary degree of Master of the University of the South Pacific:

  • Mr Sepeti Matararaba of Fiji (2008)
  • Mr Mana Strickland of Cook Islands (1995)
  • Mr Jogindar Singh Kanwal of Fiji (1993)
  • Mrs Susan Parkinson of Fiji (1991)
  • Mr Taira Rere of the Cook Islands (1990)
USP Chat Service
Lets start: