Higher Education National Commissions

Increasingly governments of the USP region are establishing National Agencies to be responsible for the regulation and monitoring of higher education in the respective countries. A common goal of these agencies is to set and maintain threshold academic standards that higher education providers must meet to ensure that students have a quality educational experience. HE providers that meet the standards are registered with the National Agencies for a specified period. The following table indicates the national agencies that the University engrosses with.

Secretariat Establishment Act (Year) Year of Operation
Fiji Higher Education Commission (FHEC) High Education Promulgation 2008 2010
Samoa Qualifications Authority (SQA) Samoa Qualifications Act 2006 (2004) 2006
Solomon Islands Tertiary Education and Skills Authority (SITESA) SITESA Act 2017 2017
Tonga National Qualifications Authority Board (TNQAB) TNQAB ACT 2004 2006
Vanuatu Qualifications Authority (VQA) VQA Act 2014 2015

USP is registered with the Fiji Higher Education Commission (FHEC) for seven years until 2020, with the currently awaiting the outcome for the 2020 FHEC Re-registration Review. With the Tonga National Quality and Accreditation Board (TNQAB) for four years until 2018 and from 2019 onwards, the University is under Annual Registration, Renewed in May of each year. Registration with the Samoa Qualifications Authority (SQA) renewal is on an annual basis that is in each April. Vanuatu Qualifications Authority (VQA) initial Registration was acquired in 2017 for a period of 5 Years and Due in 2022. Solomon Islands Tertiary Education Skills Authority (SITESA) is a relatively new regulator and the University is engaging in communications regarding USP’s registration in Solomon Islands.

Please log in to access the FHEC Recognised USP Programmes (Level7): (Access provided to all USP Staff)

USP Chat Service
Lets start: